top of page
  • Lauren Wood

Women's Golf History

Updated: Jan 22

Here is a timeline of significant women’s golf events:

  • 1867 - The first women’s golf club, the Ladies’ Club of St. Andrews, is formed in Scotland by the wives and daughters of members of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews.

  • 1893 - The Ladies Golf Union (LGU) is founded by Issette Pearson in the UK, becoming the first golf organization exclusively for women.

  • 1893 - The first Women’s Amateur Championship is organized by the LGU.

  • 1895 - Lucy Barnes Brown wins the first U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship at Meadow Brook Club in Long Island. There were only 13 competitors, a significantly smaller number than the dozens of players in today’s tournaments. 

  • 1897 - The American Ladies Golf Association (ALGA) is formed.

  • 1944 - The Women’s Professional Golf Association (WPGA) is formed. The WPGA ended in 1949 and was soon replaced by the LPGA in 1950.

  • 1946 - The first U.S. Women’s Open is organized by the United States Golf Association (USGA).

  • 1950 - The Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) is formed on September 13 in Wichita, Kansas by 13 women. The LPGA organizes and promotes women’s golf tournaments and has expanded to include more than 1700 members from over 50 countries.

  • 1955 - The first Women’s PGA Championship is organized by the LPGA.

  • 1963 - Althea Gibson becomes the first woman of color to join the LPGA. 

  • 1972 - The first ANA Inspiration tournament is held.

  • 1976 - The first Women’s British Open is held. Now known as the AIG Women’s Open, it was recognized as a major by the LPGA in 2001.

  • 1994 - The first Evian Championship is held in France. It was recognized as a major in 2013.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page